History of San Jose Scottish Rite
The History of the San Jose Scottish Rite dates from May 1883 at the old Auzerais Hotel.
On November 26, 1904 a meeting was held at the old Masonic Hall (Rutherford Hall) at the Southwest corner of 2nd and San Fernando Streets, and on March 10, 1908, the initial step was taken toward the purchase of properly with work beginning on the new Center in April 1909.
Having outgrown their Center they bought a lot at the corner of 3rd and St. James Streets in San Jose, opposite what is still St. James Park. The doors to the new Center at 2455 Masonic Drive were opened in 1984.
The new San Jose Scottish Rite Center is now the supporting entity for a Library and Museum as well as the San Jose Scottish Rite Childhood Language and Learning Disorders Clinic. It is here that the members of the San Jose Scottish Rite Bodies apply their Masonic Craft through their contributions of volunteer time and financial funds so that their vision “INVESTING IN CHILDREN” may be attained within the community.
Today, the San Jose Scottish Rite Childhood Language and Learning Disorders Clinic stands as a marvelous monument to the depth of character and commitment that epitomizes what was once a dream and now, after fourteen active years, a reality.
Today there are over 180 Clinics throughout the United States.
Dreams can come true!
What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us. What we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.
Scottish Rite Creed
Human progress is our cause, liberty of thought our supreme wish, freedom of conscience our mission, and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.