From the Master of Kadosh (February 2018)

posted Feb 8, 2018, 2:58 PM by San Jose Scottish Rite

Fraternal Greetings!  I am honored to have been installed as the new Master of Kadosh of the Consistory for the San Jose Valley Scottish Rite!  Thank you for your vote of support and I hope to make this year a great year for Scottish Rite Masonry.  I’m excited to announce that I’m in the process of planning a group trip to the Guthrie, Oklahoma Scottish Rite reunion April 6th through 8th.  Guthrie confers all 29 degrees and I can say that when both Ill. Ken Nagle and I attended last year we were both highly impressed!  I’m working on putting a travel package together and more details are to follow.  Please mark your calendar if you’re interested in attending.  This will be great preparation for the upcoming state-wide Reunion in Oakland June 29th thru July 1st 2018.

Seven Virtues and Seven Deadly Sins

As many aspects in the world are bi-polar in nature according to the Hermetic Law of Polarity, one particular set of polar concepts is that of the Seven Virtues versus the Seven Deadly Sins. Just as hot is related to cold and are both just varying degrees of temperature, the Seven Virtues and Seven Deadly sins are also just degrees of variance on personal behaviors and are a matter of degree along the same scale.

The Seven Virtues:

1. Faith is belief in the right things (including the virtues!).

2. Hope is taking a positive future view, that good will prevail.

3. Charity is concern for, and active helping of, others.

4. Fortitude is never giving up.

5. Justice is being fair and equitable with others. 

6. Prudence is care of and moderation with money.

7.    Temperance is moderation of needed things and abstinence from things which are not needed.

The Seven Deadly Sins:

1. Pride is an excessive belief in one's own abilities.

2. Envy is wanting what others have, be it status, abilities, or possessions.

3. Gluttony is the desire to eat or consume more than you require.

4. Lust is a powerful craving for such as sex, power and money. 

5. Anger is the loss of rational self-control and the desire to harm others.

6. Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain.

7. Sloth is laziness and the avoidance of work.

The Seven Virtues should be familiar to any Mason.  Faith, Hope, and Charity are the three Masonic Principle Moral Values.  Fortitude, Justice, Prudence, and Temperance are the four Principle Cardinal Virtues in Masonry.  As we can see, each of the Seven Virtues and Seven Deadly Sins maps to each other, and as such are pairs of personal behaviors which are polar opposites to each other.  Faith counteracts Pride, and Hope counteracts Envy, etc.  The list above is ordered numerically to show each opposing behavior.  Therefore, by polarizing our attitude and actions along the lines of the Seven Virtues, we can polarize ourselves towards the proper end of the spectrum of behavior and counteract the Seven Deadly Sins.

Fraternally, Sean Patrick, Master of Kadosh